Waste Recycling

Click here for the current recycling calendar.

Council supports kerbside recycling with separate contracts for collection and processing of recyclables from urban residential and commercial properties on a fortnightly basis.

Additional crates can be purchased from the Council offices. See Fees and Charges here.

In addition to the urban kerbside collections, there are public recycling drop off centres:

  • Depot Street in Tir​au. This facility is available 24/7.
  • Putaruru Transfer Station, State Highway 1. This facility is available 24/7 as it is outside the gate.
  • Tokoroa landfill in Newell Road. This facility is open from Tuesday to Sunday from 9am to 4pm.
  • Croad Place Recycling Centre in Croad Place, Tokoroa (operated by the South Waikato Achievement Trust). This facility is open from 8am to 4pm weekdays and is open on weekends and public holidays between 9am and 1pm.
  • Waotu School carpark
  • Kurunui School

The Tokoroa Landfill and Croad Place Recycling Centre are closed Christmas and New Year's Day, Good Friday and until 12 noon on Anzac Day.

Tokoroa landfill site also recycles car bodies, whiteware, old television sets and metals. Greenwaste is diverted and mulched on site.

Putaruru Transfer Station site recycles  batteries, whiteware and steel. Greenwaste is diverted and mulched on site.

Kerbside collection of recyclable material takes place fortnightly in Tokoroa, Putaruru, Tirau and Arapuni. 

Click here to access Council's Recycling Education Flyer

Click here for site to assist everyday Kiwis, Schools and Businesses make better, more sustainable decisions when it comes to selecting and disposing of consumer goods

Page reviewed: 06 Jul 2018 8:59am