About Our District

lake-arapuni-taken-from-river-trail.jpgThe South Waikato District lies at the heart of the North Island of New Zealand. State Highway 1 runs through three of our main towns - Tokoroa, Putaruru and Tirau. The Council has a main office in Tokoroa, a second office in Putaruru, and the Information Centre in Tirau acts as an agent.

The South Waikato District has a natural beauty and is split virtually in half between forestry with towering pines and dairy farming in the green rolling hills. The people here originate from over 25 different countries and are open and welcoming to cultural differences and new ventures.

The district offers rural and urban living at reasonable costs. The driving is stress-free and there are no traffic lights. It has good schooling and first class pre-schools. It offers excitement, adrenalin sports, hunting, fishing, tramping, water-sports - and much more. There is something for everyone. You can play golf while your partner shops, the kids can splash in the lake while Mum and Dad relax, take the family on a bike ride, splash around Lake Arapuni... and so much more. Click here to go to To See and Do.

For more information on the district, contact:

  • Tirau Information Centre: 07 883 1202 or click here.
  • Tokoroa Information Centre: 07 886 8872 or click here.
  • Putaruru Information Centre: 07 883 7284 or click here.

How to get here

From Auckland - head south on State Highway 1 past Hamilton. You have reached our district when you pass the intersection between State Highways 1 and 29 at Piarere. (You can also take the scenic route via State Highway 27 which passes through Matamata.)

From Wellington - head north on State Highway 1 past Taupo. You have reached our district when you cross the mighty Waikato River just north of the Atiamuri Dam.

All roads lead to the South Waikato - you can reach the South Waikato from State Highways 5, 29, 30 and 32.

Local weather

To view the weather in the South Waikato, follow this link.

Page reviewed: 14 Jul 2016 1:07pm